Sunday, July 1, 2012


Canada Day is a national holiday in Canada that is celebrated with family picnics, barbeques, and fireworks. It is always observed on July 1st unless that date falls on a Sunday, in which case it is observed the following day (though many people still celebrate on the Sunday). Today is Canada's 145th birthday, and this is why:

For 10,000 or so years, the lands we now know as 'Canada' were stewarded (quite nicely!) by our First Nations people. Then about three- or four-hundred years ago, European explorers came ashore and 'discovered' it, claiming the land for Great Britain. Over time, various parts of the country joined together, but wanted to form their own government separate from England.

On July 1, 1867, the British government (under Queen Victoria) approved the plan (called the British North America, or BNA, Act) which allowed Canada to become an independent country. This new nation (which then only consisted of the four eastern provinces of Ontario, Quebec, Nova Scotia and New Brunswick) remained loyal to Britain, but was called the Dominion of Canada. Today, there are 10 provinces and 3 territories.

I'm VERY proud to be Canadian!

No comments: